Five candidates are bidding to become the Wiltshire councillor representing people living in the villages around Westbury.

The vacancy for the Ethandune division, which covers Bratton, Coulston, Dilton Marsh, Edington, Heywood and Hawkeridge, arose after the death of Linda Conley – the representative since the May 2013 elections.

The by-election is on March 6 and the successful candidate will not only become part of the Wiltshire Council, but will also take up their place as one of the four councillors on Westbury area board.

The five candidates are: Rod Eaton (UKIP), Shaun Henley (Labour), Carole King (Lib Dem), Francis Morland (Independent) and Jerry Wickham (Conservative).

For more details about the by-election, visit the Wiltshire Council website at