Three firms are in the running for the Office Evolution-sponsored Service Provider of the Year title in tonight’s 2013 Service Excellence Awards, organised by Trowbridge Chamber of Commerce.

Priority IT Solutions, The Polebarn Hotel and Active Trowbridge were joining the other finalists in an evening of celebration at the Civic Centre, Trowbridge.

The awards, now in their fifth year, see the town’s companies and staff nominated by the public for the quality of service they provide.

The event’s four categories include; retailer of the year, service provider of the year, retail employee of the year and service employee of the year.

Winning businesses will receive a £1,000 advertising package with the Wiltshire Times and winning employees will be given £500 cash prizes.

Emma Roberts, Trowbridge Chamber of Commerce vice president and head of the Service Excellence Awards Committee, praised the quality of this year’s entries, with the public nominating over 60 businesses.

She said: “There is a tremendous amount of passion that was exuded by those who truly believe in what they do. Their commitment to customer service excellence is inspirational.

“I have walked away with broadened insight and excitement for the future of Trowbridge business. Really there is no better way to celebrate or understand the commitment to quality and teamwork.

"A huge congratulations to all those who were nominated.”

Around 200 people are expected to attend today’s ceremony.

Colin Kay, of Trowbridge Chamber of Commerce, who is one of the competition’s judges, said: “The level of competition is very high this year and I think it is fantastic to see a real quality of service in Trowbridge.”

The other finalists are: Pet Planet, Pilgrims and Timpson in the Retailer of the Year category, sponsored by Pearson May; Jasper Wilkins (Pink Planet Game Exchange), Kirsty Whiffen (Tesco Extra), and Samantha Burgess (Boots at Adcroft Surgery) in the Retail Employee of the Year category; and Alison Hough (Carewatch North West Wiltshire), Julie Butcher (Hilperton Village Hall ) and Sue Hawkins (Carewatch North West Wiltshire) in the Service Employee of the Year category.