SWINDON Town Ladies will be playing next season in the newly formed Division One (South West).

The Women’s Super League has been extended into two divisions thus reducing the number of clubs in the Women’s Premier League.

This move necessitated a re-organisation of the lower league pyramid, with the the FA Women’s Premier League consequently established.

From next seasom there will be two Premier League divisions, one in the north and one in the south, and the two top clubs will play off for the overall title.

In addition there will be four Division One leagues, one each in the North, Midlands, South East and South West. Northern & Midland leagues will promote clubs to the Northern League Premier League and South East & South West clubs will be promoted to the Southern Premier League.

Town will play in Division One (South West) which is made up of the old South West Combination League clubs. The new league will be administered by the FA from Wembley.

An inaugural meeting of clubs was held at Burton Albion FC back in June and followed up by an operational meeting last Saturday at Wembley Stadium.

Roger Reeves, general manager of Swindon Town Ladies, has been elected onto the League Management Committee to represent the clubs in Division One (South East) and Division One (South West).

Town are looking forward to the new league set up and hopefully can build on last season’s successes.