ANDREW Bethwaite repeated history at the Ogbourne Cup last weekend.

Last year his brother James was leading after the first day and the 2014 edition was no different.

An opening 70 from one handicapper James was enough to see him into day two ahead of the 84-strong field, with a three-shot lead from scratch captain Nick Parkinson. James shot 31 round the front nine holes, approaching the back nine on four under-par gross.

There was a real feeling of déjà vu as day two commenced; Andrew, who swooped in on day two and took the trophy from his grasp last year, repeated the trick.

Andrew was seven strokes off the lead after the first round but an inspired 68 gross on day two saw him leapfrog his brother once again and lift not only the scratch trophy but the nett too.

Jason McGinley had set the pace in the nett competition with a 66 on day one, closely followed by Nick Parkinson and Richard Thomas on 67 but Andrew suprassed them all.

The Ladies Club Championship belonged to Hazel Shewry after a 36-hole nett total of 146 and gross total of 160. Hazel, who will become Wiltshire Ladies captain at the end of 2016, played very consistently and was a deserved winner.

The club would like to thank volunteer starters Ron Hancock, Peter Andrews and Danny Kay. Andy Hatter who also assisted with starting, the draw and scoring. Greens’ chairman Les Jackson and the greens staff for their hard work in preparing the course.

Overall Results Hazel Trophy winner: Hazel Shewry (70 + 76 = 146).

Scratch Trophy winner: Hazel Shewry (77 + 83 = 160).

Men's Club Championship Ogbourne Cup (Nett) winner: Andrew Bethwaite (74 & 65=139) Second place: Eddie Ponton (68 + 71 = 139) .

Third place: Charlie Webb 73 + 67 = 140.

Bowley Trophy winner: Andrew Bethwaite 77 + 68 = 145.

Second place: James Bethwaite 70 + 77 = 147.

Third place: Jake Bolton 79 + 73 = 152.