NORTH Wilts men missed out against Clevedon in the Egham Trophy and also fell short against Thornbury in the Denny Plate - mixed and men’s national inter-club championship matches.

Wilts were beaten 82-68 by Thornbury in the Denny Plate and despite an excellent 95-71 first round Egham Trophy win over Bristol surprisingly lost out in the second round on the Sunday by seven shots to Clevedon going down 87-80.

The Chippenham-based club’s Egham cause though was not helped as two of their skips in the previous round, Max Clark and Wayne Snook, were unavailable owing to county commitments.

Rink honours were shared 2-2 in the Egham with North Wilts and Clevedon both winning one match at home and away.

North Wilts combined scores at home totalled 47-40 with Alex Jacobs’ rink producing a win, but away despite a six shots win for Billy McCay’s four they lost 33-47 as Janet Hardies rink suffered a heavy 20 shot loss.

Egham Trophy
Home - Rink 1:
Alex Jacobs beat Steph Branfield 26-17. Rink 2: Justin Davis lost to Pip Branfield 21-23.
Away - Rink 1: Billy McCay beat Steve Withers 21-15. Rink 2: Janet Hardie lost to John Hick 12-32.

Score: North Wilts lost to Clevedon 80-87.

Meanwhile a rink from the North Wilts Indoor Club have been named in the Wiltshire men’s side to face Somerset in the first round of the Liberty Trophy, national inter-county championship, this coming Saturday (10am).

The foursome of Steve Snook, John Buckland, Max Clark and Wayne Snook, who has been selected for an England U25 trial at Northampton on November 25, will be certainly hoping to make home advantage count as North Wilts has been chosen as the venue for the clash with neighbours Somerset.

It will be a tough assignment for the Moonraker county as for the past two seasons Somerset have gone all the way in this competition but missed out on both occasions in the Liberty final.

Wiltshire will be seeking revenge for a heavy defeat last year at the hands of Somerset at North Wilts in round two.

The team selected by Wiltshire this time around shows no fewer than 12 changes from the side that lost 132-90 last year to the cider county.


Rink 1: Jordan Moody, David Leighfield, Tom Warner & Nick Revell (all Five Rivers).

Rink 2: Kevin Embling, Tom Pittuck, Dave Snell & Ian Jefferies (all Westlecot).

Rink 3: Dave Godwin, Nigel Price, Paul Macdonald & Andy Moore (all Christie Miller).

Rink 4: Steve Snook, John Buckland, Max Clark & Wayne Snook (all North Wilts).

Rink 5: Paul Kistle, John Thomas, Kyle Anderson & Tom Walkley (all W’lecot).

Rink 6: Richard Hindley (FR), James Nobbs, Chris Cheesley & Neil Smith (all W’lecot).

Reserves: Keith Hutchens (NW) & Mike Titcombe Jnr (W’lecot).