CALNE are staging a special celebration match in memory of Pauline Watson today against Wiltshire Ladies (2pm).

Four local players - June Corbett (Town Gardens) and Jill Webb (Wroughton), who were county women’s presidents in 2012 and 2002 respectivel plus Patricia Murray (Wootton Bassett) and Sue Baker (Cricklade) are included in the Wiltshire side today.

Watson, who died in December 2012, was one of the founder members of the ladies section at Calne in 1962 and a stalwart member of the club for 50 years.

She had been Wiltshire Ladies president in 2000 and was due to be the county’s lady president again this year but for her untimely death from a heart attack sat in the chair at home following an indoor bowls match at North Wilts (Chippenham).


Calne: Jane Bowker-Praed, Sue Buckland, June Burry, Ann Chatwin, Christine Cooper (c), Sheila Isaac, Mavis Jenkins, Gill Rickards, Dorothy Ross, Margaret Roughly, Jean Spence, Sheila Taylor and Gladys Webster plus 11 guests: Marguerite Alexander, Ruth Body (both Devizes), Delia Godwin (Spencer Melksham), Eileen Holdway, Gillian Lillicrap (both Bradford-on-Avon), Mary Jones (Devizes), Sue Raymond, Yvonne Savin (both Chippenham Town), Pat Sharp (Amesbury), Joan Tugwell (Trowbridge Westbourne) and Irene Wood (Holt).

WILTSHIRE: Rink 1: June Coyle (North Wilts), Jenny Couch (S Melksham), Pat Murray (Wootton Bassett) & Margaret Annetts (Salisbury). Rink 2: Viv Baskerville, Isobel Dawson (both Chip T), Wendy Gaisford (Dev) & Mary Buckle (Ames). Rink 3: Rose Ellis (Ames), Rosemary Fitzpatrick (Chip T), Cathy Burrows (Wilton) & June Corbett (Swindon T Gardens). Rink 4: Ann Hindley (Wilton), Sue Baker (Cricklade), Jill Webb (Wroughton) & Marcia Cottle (S Melksham). Rink 5: Eileen Hawker (S Melk), Dawn Edwards (Avon), Nancy Oliver (Sal) & Fizz Mace (NW). Rink 6: Christobel Francis (S Melk), Joyce Litherland (NW), Irene Button (Chip T) & Joan Coleman (Ames).

  •  WILTSHIRE ladies have two more games scheduled for next week and both teams contain several local players.

Seven are named in the side to face Cornwall at Topsham (Exeter, Devon) in the opening South West Counties League match of the season next Wednesday, May 13 (1.30pm).

They are: Alison Fail, Chris Mitchell (both Purton), Wendy Anderson, Janet Willis (both Stratton Churchway), June Corbett (Town Gardens), Josie Lloyd (Westlecot) and county secretary Babs Salter (Wroughton).

  •  MEANWHILE, the following day, six locals are included in the side for the first county friendly match away in Wales against West Glamorgan at Port Talbot.

The locals chosen are: Wroughton’s Babs Salter and Jill Webb, June Corbett (Town Gardens), Wendy Thrush (Haydon Wick), Julia Hunt (Wanborough) and Charley Harding (W Bassett).