SWINDON speedway team manager Alun Rossiter got back on the bike on Sunday as the third round of the British Dirt Track Championships arrived at the Abbey Stadium.

Rossiter’s return to the Blunsdon shale was part of an action-packed programme of 50 races in the quad, mini bike, mx and grass track classes, with a sizeable crowd enjoying the racing.

A triple league title winner with Poole in his speedway racing days, 46-year-old Rossiter was always in the mix in the mx challenge class, where he was joined by current Robins rider Nick Morris.

Rossiter hit the deck on more than one occasion but still showed the old magic was there, while Morris stormed to two race wins before retiring from the event.

That left Swindon’s fast and smooth Blaine Blackwell to take the overall win ahead of South Marston’s Martin Hobbs, who made an impressive shale debut.

A packed line-up of riders took part in the coveted QUADZILLA QRA British Quad Oval Championships and the racing was fast and furious.

The number one spot went to round one winner Lee Hazelwood of Kidderminster, who came out on top following an awesome battle with series leader Ben Richmond from Wales.

Nick Wright from Boston continued his impressive run of form as he took third ahead of the hard-charging Danny Smith from Reading, with comeback man Gary Macbeth finishing fourth.

Top of the local riders was youngster Harry Timbrell, who finished mid-pack in the 30-rider field.

The M&S Truck Rentals British Dirt Track field was seriously depleted by pullouts during the week, and then two on the day, leaving only one race of four competitors.

Trevor Heath took all five race wins, ahead of the improving Adam Shepherd, veteran Eric Pike and Paul Havill.

Heath also went on to win the Welsh Pitbikes British Mini Bike Championships final ahead of ex-Swindon Sprockets rider Wayne Holloway, and former grasstrack and speedway rider Gary Phelps.

The top points scorer on the night was the Welshman Adam Frearson, who unfortunately had an engine failure at the start of the final.

The next round of the championship is at Rye House on Sunday, July 22.