WILL Crisp and Delleah Belgrave collected two of the major honours at the 2017 Swindon Harriers annual awards ceremony.

Middle distance runner Crisp, who is coached by Bryan Clinton, was handed the male athlete of the year in recognition of his success on the track culminating in his silver medal in the 800m at the English Schools’ Championships.

In addition he also improved his personal best to 1:50.99, which put him top of the South West U20 Men’s rankings and is the 15th quickest in the UK.

Crisp also improved his personal bests in the 400m to 49.70secs and 1500m to 3mins 58.25secs for another excellent season in which he also had to juggle the demands of important school exams.

The female award went to youngster Belgrave in recognition of her outstanding performances in the sprints.

Belgrave, who is coached by John Dill, finished the season as No 1 over 100m and No 2 in the 200m in the South West rankings for U13 girls having set a PB of 13.2secs for the former and 28.0secs in the latter – eclipsed by a lifetime best of 27.69secs indoors just last weekend.

On the national stage Belgrave’s 100m best placed her 20th quickest in the country and she also won the South West Inter Counties title.

Other highlights from Harriers athletes during 2017 included a mighty throw by Hannah Lewington to go top of the UK All-Time rankings for the U13 girls’ javelin.

Lewington threw a huge 38.37m to write her name in the history books and earn her the club award for the best female performance in a field event.

Tye Leo Stroud ranked third in the country for U13 boys over 100m with a best of 12.26secs while Matt Cave boasted an impressive hauls of medals for GB in the transplant games, improving his own world record in the javelin for a transplant patient.

The Harriers special achievement award went to Nathan Montague for his amazing exploits in the ultra distance running stage.

Montague finished third in the Ultra Gobi Desert 250 mile race and was first Briton in the Kalahari Augrabies Extreme Desert Marathon and has emerged as one of the world’s leading ultra runners.

Finally chairman Bryan Clinton paid tribute to the club’s U13/15 Youth Development League team after they won the South West Division again and narrowly failed to gain promotion via the play-offs.

Swindon's former Olympic swimmer Grant Turner was guest of honour at the ceremony.

Swindon Harriers awards – male athlete of the year: Will Crisp; Female: Delilah Belgrave.

Most league points – male: Aaron Bishop; female: Lydia Rogers. Multi event athlete of the year – male: Ben McIntyre; female: Issy Imeson. Achievement award: Nathan Montague.

U11s cross country - male: Fletcher Hart; female: Harriet Hillman; Track – male: James Bagot; female: Reka Carr; Field – male: Fin Keating; female: Sophie Imeson.

U13s cross country – male: Harry Cunningham; female: Ayla Tonkin; Track – male: Tye Leo Stroud; female: Delleah Belgrave; Field – male: Tom Oram; female: Hannah Lewington.

U15s cross country – male: Ben McIntyre; female: Rachel Oram; Track – male: Joe Knibb; female: Olivia Pawson & Lavinia Rai; Field – male: Harry Ricketts; female: Katie Loach.

U17s cross country – male: Ethan Pierce; female: none; Track – male: Elliot Doughty; female: Sophie Capel & Hannah New; Field – male: McIntyre; female: none.

U20s cross country – male: Ciaran Cooper; female: none; Track – male: Wil Crisp; female: Terresa Iannetelli.

Senior cross country – male: Luke Byrne; female: none; Track – male: Cooper; female: Rachel Sykes; Field – male: Aaron Bishop; female: Zoe Large; Road – male: Ben Cole; female: Kate Jacobs.

Veterans cross country – male: Steve Connolly; female: Pauline Morgan; Track – male: Matt Cave; female: Jacobs; Field – male: Nick Walker; female: none; Road – male: Gary O’Brien; female: Jenny Garth.