BOWLS: Westlecot players struggle at home event

HOME players found the going tough last weekend on the first day of the fourth annual Westlecot Open.

None of the nine who competed in section A of the singles tournament advanced to the quarter-final stage, which will be played tomorrow afternoon following the completion of Group A today and Group B today and tomorrow.

Tournament director Neil Smith was surprisingly defeated in his first match 2-1 on sets to Robert Palser (Camberley) after taking the match to a sudden death tie-breaker.

First-game 2-0 losses were suffered by James Nobbs and John Wilson while Tom Pittuck, Denis Holborow and Katy Smith all went spiralling as well, but only after taking their matches to a tie-breaker.

Katy Smith played well despite losing the first set to reigning champion Brian Lees (Welford-on-Avon), but hit back superbly to win the second 7-3.

However, she then lost the tie-breaker 2-0.

The surviving Westlecot trio of Michael Titcombe junior, Chris Cheesley and Ian Jefferies all missed out in their second matches.

Cheesley went down to Carterton’s Paul Sharman while Titcombe was beaten 2-0 by Ian Honnor (Adur, West Sussex) who went on to bag a quarter-final spot. Jefferies was beaten by 2-0 by Five Rivers, Salisbury player Nick Revell.

Wiltshire outdoor Middleton Cup player Revell just failed to book a quarter-final slot after being sunk 2-1 by Honnor in a tie-breaker, but he was the best-placed Wiltshire player on day one.

The open draw resulted in a repeat of last year’s final, but there was a different result on this occasion.

After his win over Katy Smith, Lees came out of the hat to face Mark Sykes (Banbury) in round two.

Lees won the first set 5-3 but Sykes came back to edge the second 7-6 and then gained revenge for defeat in the 2012 final by winning the tie-breaker 2-1. Sykes went on to make the quarter-finals.

Two places in the field for day two of the tournament have been reserved for players from the Westlecot club.

A total of 16 players competed in a preliminary showdown, eight for day one and eight last Monday for the two places today.

Last Monday’s semi-final shootout saw Linda Perfitt beat Andy Gomersall 2-1 on sets while Dave Godwin overcame Matt Webster to book their places in the main competition today.

Godwin faces Vince Wilks (Gloucester) at 8.30am while Perfitt meets fellow Westlecot player Kyle Anderson at 10am.

The 96 players taking part in the Westlecot Open have been divided into two sections with games in each played down to a last four.

The eight remaining players go into an open draw for the quarter-finals with the four victors progressing to the semi-finals.

Full details of the draw and results can be viewed at website as well as at

Spectators are welcome and admission is free on the final two days of competition this weekend, with bar and catering facilities available.


Preliminary competition: Keith Williamson lost to Linda Perfitt 2-1; Dave Godwin beat Barry Pittuck 2-0; Andy Gomersall beat Nick John 2-0; Matt Webster beat Ian Farragher 2-0.

Semi-finals: Perfitt beat Gomersall 2-1; Godwin beat Webster 2-1.

Day One Group A Selected results: Paul Wilsher (Egham) lost to Ian Jefferies (Westlecot) 0-2 (2-13, 4-7); Neil Smith (West) lost to Robert Palser (Camberley) 1-2 (7-6,3-8,0-2); Tom Warner (Five Rivers) lost to Mike Titcombe (West) 1-2 (6-6,5-5, 0-2); James Nobbs (West) lost to Nick Revell (FR Salisbury) 0-2 (2-6,2-11); Chris Cheesley (West) beat John Wilson (West) 2-0 (9-6,9-4); Paul Sharman (Carterton) beat Chris Jones (Mole Valley) 2-1 (3-5,7-2,2-0); Brian Hawkins (Clarrie Dunbar) lost to Ian Honnor (Adur, W Sussex) 0-2 (0-9, 3-7); Katy Smith (West) lost to Brian Lees (holder, Welford) 1-2 (5-7,7-3, 0-2); David Pitt (Hounslow) lost to Mark Sykes (Banbury) 1-2 (7-5, 3-8, 0-2); Shaun Jones (Malvern Hills, Barwell Leics 2013 Open winner) beat Sam Watts (Oxford C&C) 2-0 (8-7,8-1).

Selected first-round results: Cheesley lost to Sharman 0-2 (0-13, 3-5); Honnor beat Titcombe 2-0 (9-4, 9-0); Jefferies lost to Revell 0-2 (1-10, 5-7); Lees (holder) lost to Sykes (2012 runner-up) 1-2 (5-3, 6-7, 1-2); Jones beat S Gingell (Egham) 2-0 (6-3, 6-4).

Second round: Sharman beat Jones 2-1 (4-9, 9-2, 2-1); Sykes beat Neil Brereton (Bromsgrove) 1.5-0.5 (6-6, 9-6); Honnor beat Adrian Kemish (Oxford C&C) 2-0 (6-4, 6-4); Revell beat Michael Knight (Desborough) 1.5-0.5 (4-4, 4-3).

Last 16: Honnor beat Revell 2-1 (6-5, 2-7, 2-1); Sharman lost to Sykes 0-2 (1-8, 1-10).

Winners: Honnor (Adur, W Sussex) and Sykes (Banbury) move forward to Sunday’s quarter-finals.


Group A, today Pick of games, 8.30am: Chris Wilkins A (unattached) v Norman Coad (Bodmin). 10am: Dave Snell (West) v Michael Squires (East Dorset).

Group B, today Pick of games 11.30am: Mark Royal (Mid Suffolk) v Danny Denison (Torquay United). 2.30pm: Stewart Douglas (East Lothian) v Arthur Thompson (Radnorshire). 4pm: Andy Moore (Christie Miller) v Glenn Skipp (Hartlepool). 5.30pm: James Shillingford (Wey Valley) v BJ Byles (Desborough); Adam Tidby (Dorchester) v Perry Martin (Swale).

Group B, tomorrow Pick of matches, 8.30am: Mark Atkins (Malvern Hills) v John Evans (Torquay United); Ryan Atkins (M Hills) v Matt Hamilton (Taunton). 10am: Martin Timms (Welford) v Greg Harlow (City of Ely); Lee Rowland (Ipswich) v Sam Tolchard (Torquay United); Robert Paxton (Taunton) v Gordon Charlton (Folkstone); Matt Hyde (Desborough M) v Jamie Chestney (Exonia).


Comments are closed on this article.


About cookies

We want you to enjoy your visit to our website. That's why we use cookies to enhance your experience. By staying on our website you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more about the cookies we use.

I agree